top of page

3 DAY TRIP IDYLLIC ST. WOLFGANG


Are you spontaneous? I personally feel better when I have a plan or a concept. But sometimes the spontaneous and unplanned trips are the best …

Every year, my mum and I go on a spontaneous mother-daughter-trip somewhere. In our everyday life it’s often difficult to find time for each other because everybody has her stuff to do. Sometimes we don’t have the possibility to gossip a lot because everybody is busy and that’s the reason why we really enjoy these trips together. The relationship between me and my mum isn’t always the same as in the movie Mamma Mia but when we travel together, it isn’t far away from that scenario.


As I said our trips are always a spontaneous story and the reason for that is that my mum is a very spontaneous person and most of the time I like that, because that makes everything more adventurous (and maybe a little bit more chaotic).


This time we travelled to St. Wolfgang, a town with culture, beautiful nature and background. Twenty-five years ago, my mum worked as a waitress in a hotel there. That means that she has many acquaintances there and of course she wants to talk with anybody, when we’re there. She always told, or better still tells me stories from these years and how she loves St. Wolfgang. When I was a child my mum also travelled with me to St. Wolfgang. Maybe that’s the reason why I am in love with this town and why I have a relation to it. What follows sound a bit kitschy, but I think St. Wolfgang has something magical and indescribable. When I am there I am in a mood of happiness and well-being.

I reveal you some hotspots and things you should do when you are in St. Wolfgang. Let the flair act on you!


TAKE A PHOTO AT THE LAKE VIEW WINDOWS

The first point on your list should definitely be to go to the lake view windows next to the church. First you will think, what’s so special about old windows near a church. BUT these windows show you an amazing panorama to the lake “Wolfgangsee” and present you a view to another world. Of course, you get the most beautiful view and the prettiest pictures when the sun is shining. The windows are a famous photo spot, so don’t wonder if there are lots of tourists.



GO THROUGH THE ENTRY ARCH "IM WEISSEN RÖSSL"

Most people think when they hear St. Wolfgang of the hotel “Im weissen Rössl”. The reason is that this luxurious hotel is very famous all over the world, it’s the heart of the town. You can’t get through St. Wolfgang without seeing this gigantic, prestige and red painted hotel. I was even in it and set on the bar with my mum and I actually can say that it was very special, and I felt like a classy lady who is waiting for her glass of sparkling wine, (please don’t take me too seriously). You don’t necessarily have to go in it, but you can go through the entry arch and don’t worry, that’s for free!




EAT THE GIGANTIC SALZBURGER NOCKERL

If you know me, you know that I have a sweet tooth. And with this monster dessert I definitely quenched my craving. “Salzburger Nockerl” are three big sweet dumplings made out of a very fluffy and sugary dough with a bit of jam. I recommend you to find an eating partner because I insure you that you can’t eat “Salzburger Nockerl” alone. I ate it with my mum and we couldn’t finish it, although I usually hardly can’t stop eating when a dessert is on the table.



MAKE A SHIP TRIP TO ST. GILGEN

Seeing St. Wolfgang with the ship is one of the greatest decisions you can make! You have an incredible view and you are able to see another town. St. Gilgen is within walking distance or by ship. Normally most hikers hike to St. Gilgen and take the ship back to St. Wolfgang. I am honest, this time we were too lazy for that and decided that we take the ship. We spent a half day in St. Gilgen without any stress and travelled back by ship. The town St. Gilgen is also nice to visit, but of course doesn’t overtrump St. Wolfgang.




DRINK A COFFEE AT "KAFFEEWERKSTATT"

If you want to see a slightly different café, then you should visit the café “Kaffeewerkstatt”. When I first entered this extraordinary coffee shop I didn’t know where I should look first. The facility is very overloaded and original but still inviting and homey. Another special thing there is that you can buy almost everything in this café and by that I don’t mean just coffee and cake. You can shop furniture, lamps, decoration and many more things. By the way, I ordered a mango-maracuja tea and if you wonder why this girl ordered a tea in summer, the reason was that it was a very cold evening. But because of the tropical smell of the tea it was still a great drink for summer and it tasted yummy.


I know, I know, that was a very long post, but I loved writing about this wonderful town and if you are still reading this you are awesome, I am so grateful!


Love Anna

28 Ansichten

Ähnliche Beiträge

Alle ansehen

Kommentare


bottom of page